Jasper Tan awarded the Rice D2K Graduate Fellowship for Spring 2020

Souptik Barua awarded the Rice D2K Postdoctoral Fellowship for Spring 2020


Souptik Barua awarded 2019 NSF PATHS-UP seed grant for research in ‘A computational framework to discover temporal biomarkers from continuous glucose monitoring data in an underserved Type-2 diabetes cohort’.

Adithya Pediredla received the 2019 Ralph Budd Award for the best Ph.D. dissertation in the School of Engineering.

Yicheng Wu, Vivek Boominathan, Huaijin Chen, Aswin Sankaranarayanan, and Ashok Veeraraghavan received the best poster award for “PhaseCam3D—Learning Phase Masks for Passive Single View Depth Estimation.”  at IEEE International Conference on Computational Photography (ICCP), 2019

Ewa Nowara received the Best poster/demo award at the Rice ECE Corporate Affiliates Day 2019.


Vivek Boominathan received the Institute of Biosciences and Bioengineering Travel award.

Yicheng Wu received Robertson Finley Travel Award (9/2018) and the 2018/2019 Oil & Gas HPC Conference Graduate fellowship (10/2018).

Xu Chen and Leo Meister received the best abstract award for Family Level Assessment of Screen use in the Home (FLASH): Development of an automatic and objective assessment of children’s screen use across platforms,” in Digital Media and Developing Minds Congress Conference 2018.

Souptik Barua was chosen as one of 13 students worldwide to present my research at the 1st PhD summit organized by EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland. The theme of the summit was ‘Data-driven Life sciences’ (November 2018).


Akshat Dave received the Texas Instruments Fellowship

Ankit Raghuram received the Neuroengineering IGERT: From cells to Systems training fellowship (August 2017).

Ewa Nowara received the Ken Kennedy Institute Technology 2017/2018 Schlumberger Graduate Fellowship.

Chris Metzler, Sudarshan Nagesh, Manoj Sharma, Richard Baraniuk and Ashok Veeraraghavan received the Best Paper Award Honorable Mention at ICCP 2017 for “Coherent inverse scattering via transmission matrices: Efficient phase retrieval algorithms and a public dataset.”

Ashok Veeraraghavan received the National Sciences Foundation (NSF) CAREER award.

Jason Holloway received the 2017 Ralph Budd Award for the best Ph.D. dissertation in the School of Engineering.

Mayank Kumar, Ashok Veeraraghavan, and Ashutosh Sabharwal received the Hershel M. Rich Invention Award award for their work on “CameraVitals: Non-contact Clinical-grade Vital Signs Using Cameras”

Mayank Kumar received the 2017 Best Graduate Poster Award presented at ECE Corporate Affiliates Day

Ashok Veeraraghavan, Ashutosh Sabharwal and Dr. James Suliburk received the 2017 Hamill Innovation Award for their work on “PulseCam: Design, Development and Validation of Continuous Hemodynamic Imaging for Intensive Care Units.”


Vivek Boominathan and Jesse Adams received the best demo award at the Rice ECE Corporate Affiliates Day 2019.

Huajin (George) Chen gave CVPR 2016 Oral (ASP Vision: Optically Computing the First Layer of Convolutional Neural Networks using Angle Sensitive Pixels, Huaijin Chen, Suren Jayasuriya, Jiyue Yang, Judy Stephen, Sriram Sivaramakrishnan, Ashok Veeraraghavan, Alyosha Molnar).

M. Salman Asif, Ali Ayremlou, Aswin Sankaranarayanan, Ashok Veeraraghavan, and Richard Baraniuk received the Hershel M. Rich Invention Award award for their work on “Thin, bare-sensor cameras using coded aperture and computation”


Jasper Tan received the Ken Kennedy Enhancement Fellowship (2015) and Texas Instruments Fellowship (2015).

Ewa Nowara received the Texas Instruments Fellowship.

Huajin (George) Chen received Best Poster Runner Up – People’s Choice ICCP 2015 (FPA-CS: Focal Plane Array-based Compressive Imaging in Short-wave Infrared, H Chen, MS Asif, AC Sankaranarayanan, A Veeraraghavan).


Huajin (George) Chen received the Texas Instruments Distinguished Graduate Student Scholarship.